Council Membership

Council Membership 2023/2024 as at 1 August 2023 University Charter, paragraph 8, prescribes the Council membership as follows:

(a) Sixteen persons external to the University:	
Chair of the Council:	Mark Preston (to 31.7.2026)
Deputy Chair of the Council/Chair of the Finance and Resources Committee	Andrew Newell (to 31.7.2024)
	Sarah Dance (to 31.7.2026)
	Xian Chan (31.7.2024)
	Daniel Cook (to 31.7.2024)
	Michael Crick (to 31.7.2024)
	Paul Pugh (to 31.7.2026)
	Mayuri Lakhani (31.7.2024)
	Kim Lowe (to 31.7.2024)
	Gabriel MacGregor (to 31.7.2024)
	Sam Parrett (to 31.7.2026)
	Mark Downs (to 31.7.2026)
	Ursula Brennan (to 31.7.2024)
(b) Two persons elected from among their number by the academic st	aff of the University:
Academic staff:	Dr Balihar Sanghera (to 31.7.2026)
	Will Norman (to 31.7.2025)
	-
Academic-related staff and other staff:	Chris Barron (to 31.7.2024)
	Alex Perkins (to 31.7.2024)
(d) One person elected from among their number by students of the University:	
For 2023/2024:	ТВС
(e) The Vice-Chancellor and President:	
	Professor Karen Cox
(f) Up to two officers of the University, appointed by Council following Chancellor:	consultation with the Chair and the Vice-
Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Academic Strategy, Planning and Performance	Georgina Randsley de Moura
Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Education and Student Experience	Professor Richard Reece
(g) The President of the University of Kent Students' Union and the sa	bbatical officer for postgraduate students:
President of Kent Union:	Zaid Mahmood (for 2023/24)
Vice-President Postgraduate Experience	Ben Bradley (for 2023/24)

Note: (a) Total prescribed membership: 25 members

(a) Total prescribed membership. 25 members
(b) Council members - <u>Trusteeships 2022-2023</u> (Trusteeships 2023/24 to be shared once available)
(c) Queries should be addressed to <u>Dr Sinead Critchley</u>, Director of Governance and Assurance (Secretary to Council), (email <u>S.Critchley-2002@kent.ac.uk</u>).